Waziri Emerges First Female Vice President Of Yobe University

by Duchess Magazine
0 comment

Professor Maimuna Waziri has been appointed the new Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Federal University Gashua in Yobe state.

Waziri, 55, a Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the university defeated 47 other professors to emerge the third substantive vice chancellor.

She will succeed incumbent Vice-Chancellor, Professor Andrew Haruna whose tenure ends 10th February.

Waziri the second indigenous female professor in the history of Yobe state, became a professor in October 2015 and has since held several positions. Most recently she served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics) at the university.

Born in 1966, Waziri graduated from Bayero University Kano where she bagged her bachelors degree in Chemistry in 1986. A year later she started her academic career at the University of Maiduguri as a Graduate Assistant.

Thereafter, she proceeded for her Master’s degree at the University of Ibadan where she obtained a master’s degree in Physical Chemistry in 1990.

Not done, she obtained her PhD degree in Analytical Chemistry from University of Maiduguri, in 2006.

She continued with her lecturing career with the department of Chemistry, University of Maiduguri where she rose to the rank of Senior Lecturer.

Everly dedicated to learning, research and teaching, she served in various capacities at the University of Maiduguri and Bukar Abba Ibrahim University, now Yobe State University Damaturu, before. joining the services of the Federal University Gashua.

In 1997, she served her State as a Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development and later Commissioner for Commerce and Industries from 1998 to 1999.

She also served as a Special Assistant to the Executive Governor of Yobe State on Industrial Development between 1999 and 2001 and Director of Science and Technology, Ministry of Education, Damaturu from 2001 to 2007.

Waziri was instrumental to the establishment of Yobe State University.

She is a recipient of a number of awards which include; The Michael Collins Memorial Prize for the best 1st year Physical Chemistry student in BUK in 1984, the Michael Collins Memorial Prize for the best graduating Chemistry student in BUK in 1986, Who is Who in Science and Technical Education in Africa (1997) amongst others.

She is also a Fellow of the Chemical Society of Nigeria, Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria, American Biographical Institute of international Research and The Third World Organization for Women in Science among others

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
? Hi, how can we help?