Sade Adu, Snoop Dog, others to get inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

by Joseph Omoniyi
0 comment

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the inductees for its 52nd annual Induction and Awards Gala, which will take place on Thursday, June 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Among the honorees are Sade Adu, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Glen Ballard and Liz Rose.

Four of the inductees first achieved fame in groups, but are being honored as individuals. Sade Adu, Estefan, Jeff Lynne and Teddy Riley will be inducted for their individual contributions to the music industry. Three of the inductees were born outside the United States – Sade Adu from Nigeria, Estefan from Cuba and Lynne from England.

The honorees range in age from 51-year-old Snoop Dogg to 75-year-old Jeff Lynne. This will be the fifth consecutive induction ceremony at which a songwriter associated with rap or hip-hop has been honored. Snoop Dogg follows Jay-Z (2017), Jermaine Dupri (2018), Missy Elliott (2019) and Chad Hugo and Pharrell Williams of The Neptunes (2022).

This is the latest in a series of major honors for Estefan, who received the Kennedy Center Honors in 2017 and, with her husband Emilio Estefan, the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song in 2019. Lynne was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2017 as a member of ELO. Liz Rose, who is nominated for a Grammy for Song of the Year at the 65th Annual Grammy Awards, is also among the inductees.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) was established in 1969. A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first significant commercial release of a song.




Joseph Omoniyi

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
? Hi, how can we help?